The United Architects of the Philippines (UAP) Dubai Chapter is bringing back its Design Awards competition this year which the organization launched in 2019. After hosting virtual events during the height of the pandemic, The UAP Dubai is excited to announce the comeback of the UAP Dubai Awards 2023 which will serve the design and architecture professions face-to-face. 

UAP Dubai Awards

The past three years have brought many changes in how people live and how architects design built environments to adapt to these changes. Despite that, the organization believes that the need to recognize, celebrate, and reward top talents, creativity, and ideas remains as important as ever. 

The UAP Dubai Awards celebrates class-leading work, best practices, sustainability, and innovation in all its forms. It is dedicated to surfacing the best talent and projects when the world has never been in greater need of inspiration.

The annual UAP DUBAI AWARDS is a global architecture award recognizing design excellence. It was created to advance the appreciation and exposure of quality architectural design worldwide. The prize celebrates creativity and innovation in architecture and design.

In 2019, the successful inaugural UAP Dubai Awards happened at the Palazzo Versace Dubai. It was attended by a reputable International Grand Jury composed of top architects in the practice, including Patrik Schumacher (Partner in Zaha Hadid Architects, London), Yama Karim (Partner in Studio Daniel Libeskind, New York), Felino “Jun” Palafox, Jr. (CEO of Palafox Associates, Philippines), Fernando Menis (CEO of Fernando Menis Arquitectos, Spain), and Royal Pineda (Partner at Royal Pineda +, Philippines).

For 2023, the UAP Dubai remains consistent in bringing together distinguished personalities in the industry to be the International Grand Jury members. The jury is composed of Stefan de Koning (Partner at MVRDV, Rotterdam), Caroline Bos (co-founder of UNStudio, Netherlands), Ali Mangera (co-founder of Mangera Yvars Architects, United Kingdom), and Armando Eugene de Guzman III (immediate past national president of UAP, Philippines). 

The awards have extended its category list to 14

  • Concept Design Of The Year
  • Residential Project Of The Year
  • Commercial Project Of The Year
  • Hospitality Project Of The Year
  • Healthcare Project Of The Year
  • Educational Project Of The Year
  • Urban & Masterplan Project Of The Year
  • Community & Cultural Project Of The Year
  • Interior Design Project Of The Year
  • Innovation & Sustainability Project Of The Year
  • Student Thesis Project Of The Year
  • Architectural Firm Of The Year
  • Young Global Filipino Architect Of The Year
  • Global Filipino Architect Of The Year

The jury will judge the entries based on how the design successfully addresses individual project requirements, the successful integration of the solution, and its worthiness for an award in design excellence.

Projects will be evaluated on one or more of the following criteria:

  • Innovation — does the design stand out, and provide something new to the community and industry?
  • Aesthetics — artistic value of the form, shape, color, texture, finishing, engineering, material, etc.
  • Impact — the benefits delivered to the user and/or society by the design.Utility — demonstrating how the project meets the brief.
  • Environmental Sustainability— a commitment to environmentally sensitive design and sustainability.

All current members of the UAP are eligible to submit entries for projects located anywhere in the world. Entries must be built projects and were completed on or after January 1, 2015, except for Concept Design Project of the Year and Individual Awards Categories.

UAP Dubai Awards 2019
UAP Dubai Awards 2019
UAP Dubai Awards 2019
UAP Dubai Awards 2019
UAP Dubai Awards 2019
UAP Dubai Awards 2019
UAP Dubai Awards 2019
UAP Dubai Awards 2019

Design Consultancy Firm submitting the project must have at least one current UAP member in the design team of the submitted project.


January 31, 2023

February 23, 2023

March 2023

March 23, 2023

April 2023

April 23, 2023

May 2023

Call for Entries

Deadline for submission

First round of Judging

Announcement of Shortlist

Final Round of Judging

Notification of Award Winners

Awarding Ceremony

To view past winners, visit the UAP Dubai website.

Interested participants may download the UAP DUBAI AWARDS 2023 ENTRY FORM starting on January 31, 2023.

Entering the Awards is free of charge.

Visuals courtesy of UAP Dubai Chapter

Featured Image by Sumesh Jagdish Makhija

Download this month's BLUPRINT magazine digital copy from:
Subscribe via [email protected]